top of page

First published in 1882, Through the Night: Tales of Shades and Shadows contains fourteen traditional Victorian supernatural stories. There are tales of vengeful ghosts, wraiths, premonitions, voodoo, curses, folklore and fairies. Isabella Banks, best remembered for her novel The Manchester Man, was known for her historical accuracy and meticulous attention to detail, and the appendix from the first edition, which outlines the historical background for the stories, is included in this current edition. Also included in this edition is an introductory essay by Gina R. Collia, 'Mrs G. Linnaeus Banks: The Lancashire Antiquarian'.


Mrs G. Linnæus Banks: The Lancashire Antiquarian • A World Between • The Pride of the Corbyns • Wraith-Haunted • The Piper’s Ghost • St. Cuthbert’s Cup • The Fairies’ Cradle • My Will • Judgment Deferred • A Dour Weird • The White Woman of Slaith • Larry’s Apprenticeship • The Fate of the Fosbrookes • A New Leaf • The Plainbury Mystery • Appendix.

Through the Night: Tales of Shades and Shadows by Mrs G. Linnaeus Banks

  • Published: 28 August 2023. 
    ISBN-13: 978-1-7393921-3-0.  
    Hardback with dust jacket, 464 pages. 
    Price: £27.00

bottom of page